An Introduction to Vedic Astrology

by Arjun Kripalubhai
Vedic astrology places a great deal of emphasis on the placement of the Moon and rising stars. The zodiac is divided into 27 lunar mansions across the 12 signs. The stars located in each lunar mansion are called nakshatras which means 'stars' in Sanskrit. The Moon visits a new lunar mansion each day. Each nakshatra is divided further into 4 parts, making a total of 108 padas in the zodiac. Each sign is made up of 9 padas, which are the foundations of each of the signs and their meanings. For example, the star Regulus, known as the 'heart of the lion' is the first nakshatra in the sign of Leo -- called Magha in Sanskrit. Western astrology places Regulus in Virgo, which demonstrates the gradual separation of the tropical and sidereal zodiacs, as at one time Regulus was in Leo in the tropical zodiac. ...

Follow the Moon each day!

Daily Lunascope sent to your email box.

Moon Chart: 2024-07-15 01:11 GMT